Anna Siewierska Prize

Every other year, the Linguistics Association of Great Britain runs a competition for the Anna Siewierska Prize, for the best essay by a PhD student or recent graduate on a topic in linguistics.

The prize is awarded in memory of Anna Siewierska, who was an active and distinguished member of the LAGB until her tragic and untimely death in 2011.

Entrants must be both:

  • current PhD students or recent graduates within one year of the award of their PhD (viva date) on the submission deadline; and
  • members of the association (an application for membership may be included with the submission).

Papers should be submitted to the President by the closing date. Entrants should also state their current course (including university and name of supervisor), and, in the case of recent graduates, the date of their PhD viva.

The next call for entries will be in 2020. LAGB members will be notified by email and on the forum.

Submissions must be written in English and must not have been previously published. They should not exceed 10,000 words, including tables, figures, notes, appendices, references, etc., and may be shorter. Jointly authored submissions are acceptable, provided that all authors meet the criteria above. Authors should submit one anonymous and one named version of the submission.

The value of the prize is £500. Where there is more than one winner, it will be shared equally between the winners. The committee reserves the right not to award the prize if it feels that none of the submissions reach the necessary standard.

The winning entry will be posted on the LAGB’s website and will be forwarded by the committee with their endorsement to the Journal of Linguistics. However, no guarantee of publication in the Journal of Linguistics can be given, and the winning submission will be subject to the journal’s normal reviewing procedures.

Previous winners of the Anna Siewierska Prize are:

2019 Not awarded due to Covid-19 Pandemic

2017 Not awarded

2015 Henri Kauhinen (University of Manchester) - Neutral Change

2013 Georg Höhn (University of Cambridge) - Deriving the Basque locative anomalies: The size of spell-out domains in the extended nominal projection

You can read the winning entries, more about previous prizewinners, and about the runners-up here:

In the interim the Philological Society runs a competition for the RH Robins Prize (the two prizes are awarded in alternating years).

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software