Anna Siewierska Prize 2015

The Linguistics Association of Great Britain is happy to announce the outcome of the competition for the Anna Siewierska Prize, for the best essay by a student or recent graduate on a topic in linguistics.

We received papers of very high quality. The outcome of the competition is as follows:


  • Henri Kauhanen (Manchester) – Neutral change


  • Naruadol Chancharu (Cambridge) – The Carto-Conceptual Network approach to linguistic typology: introduction and application
  • James Reid (Edinburgh) – Free Adjuncts and Temporal Coherence

A quote from a review of the winning essay:

“An impressive piece of work ... that makes a substantial and important contribution to research on language change.”

The value of the prize is £500. The winning entry can be viewed here.

The Anna Siewierska Prize will be awarded again in 2018 (submission 2017). For each submission, the LAGB must receive confirmation from the student's supervisor(s) that they endorse the paper. Winning entries, if eligible for submission to the Journal of Linguistics, will be forwarded to that journal for review, with the committee's support. In the interim the Philological Society runs a competition for the ninth RH Robins Prize (the two prizes are awarded in alternating years).

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software